jump to navigation

Friday Can’t Come Sooner January 16, 2006

Posted by Marie in Chill.
trackback

So many people to say bye to, lunch with, so many things I need to get before I go… you’d think I was leaving for good! Yeah, part of me so wants to get away from Singas and start anew… our island is way too small, it stifles. I’m not excited yet… of course I don’t look at the airport runway on my way to work with unbelievable longing…cos I’m gonna be in a plane on it and SOON!! It’s so different when you’re a kid; you get excited ages before a holiday and it never dwindles. Now, I get lil spasms of excitement, joy, hesitation…I’m just looking forward to packing my bag.

 

The ages of seven to eleven is a huge chunk of life, full of dulling and forgetting. It is fabled that we slowly lose the gift of speech with animals, that birds no longer visit our windowsills to converse. As our eyes grow accustomed to sight they armour themselves against wonder. 

 -Leonard Cohen, The Favorite Game, Bk 1, Ch. 17

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

