jump to navigation

Under Thumb September 5, 2008

Posted by Marie in Gripes.
trackback
I have a love/hate relationship with control. Basically I’m a control freak, I like being able to do what I want, when I want, how I want and yes, being married is about giving and taking and it’s been hard and mostly we argue about that. It’s an issue that I have to deal with. That being said, if I know someone is better than me at a project or is put in charge of a project, I do what I’m asked to do and I never insist on my way or the highway. I can take instructions, it’s hard sometime but it IS possible.
 
Anyways, back to the gripe, I don’t like being under anyone’s thumb. My parents gave me a certain amount of freedom when I was young and when it was abused it was taken away till I could make the right choices (and boy that sucked) and when I hit 21, I was making my on decisions and as long as I had my own money, no one could say anything. Now, being married … I guess I’ve been lucky. I can’t call R controlling, he’s actually very far from it, he expects certain things and I’ve made it very clear that I need to travel once a year or at least once every two years with just my girls and he hasn’t got a problem with it. Instead I know he likes me outta the house ever so often cos he knows how much my girlie time means to me and I come back a lot less bitchier. So it’s hard to swallow when married friends can’t come with you on holidays or have to ask permission before a girls night out. I’m sorry but it really bugs. I’d like to think that making your own money = doing what you want (within reason) but it’s not that simple is it? It’s about the husbands and family and etc… so bothersome and unfair.
 
Anyways, I wanna watch Wall E!! And I need to squeeze a quick run today before I meet Wen for a pedicure, gym tmr and hmm.. I know I’m forgetting something…
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

