jump to navigation

I Baked a Cake that Stuck May 26, 2009

Posted by Marie in Fitness & Health, Foodie, Pets, Randomness, Whine.
trackback

I don’t know why but every time I’m on leave I find myself busier and more tired than I am when I’m at work! Here’s my proof…

Friday, I wake up super early, walk the dogs and have breakfast. Thinking that the new vet I’m made an appointment with is 10 minutes away (I checked the website and rang the correct number), I decide to walk both the dogs there… only to find that… the vet has moved to a nearby but not near enough neighbourhood for me to walk to!! Argh. Thank goodness my dear MIL has the car so she picks us up and we get there in a piece. Since Stomper’s there she gets her yearly shot too. Now being late getting Axl in and getting Stomper sorted has blown my timetable. I’m suppose to be getting my hair done at 10.30am! So I get home, shower cos it’s so darn hot, grab a cab and I’m back at Tampines  at 11.15 am, I got my hair, cut, coloured, highlighted and washed for 138 bucks… how that’s a steal and they weren’t playing the Best of Michael Learns to Rock!! Yay!

So now I’m running really late and I had an appointment to have a tour of the hospital at 1.50pm and I left the salon at 1.35pm, the husband can only drive so fast. So ok, missed it and we wait to see my doctor…. who is in delivery and will be late which causes my bloody pressure to spike to 135! Retest. ahahaha. So we wait. We leave and it’s about time to go get Axl, yay. But first, I need to get Buttermilk and I’ll explain why soon. So we get to the vet at 4.40pm and we have  to wait and wait and then they call for Lucky’s owners and I’m weird like that but I wanna see what Lucky looks like…. wait a minute.. I see Axl, so unless Lucky, who I happen to know is a cat and Axl are related… which would explain a lot about Axl in general… there’s been a mistake. Of course the owners walk all the way into the vet’s office just to exclaim “That’s not our cat!!”…. you  think? I get home and have to boil chicken and brown rice for Axl. The great thing is; that he seems fine, so we have an hour nap. The rest of the night was rather uneventful, thank goodness.

Saturday, I wake up super early again cos I need to make sure Axl can pee and poo and in general see if he’s in any pain. It’s early and I’m bored so I decide to make Smitten Kitten’s Raspberry Buttermilk Cake. I start this knowing I have to go to the gym before lunch… Everything seems to go according to plan and I’m liking the smells. Now I’ve been baking and cooking since I was 12 and so far I’ve had 2 failures – chocolate chip cookies and muffins. I’ve gotten over the failed CCCookies and I will never make muffins or cakes from a box ever again. I’m sad to say, this cake failed. It smelt heavenly, it taste so bloody good but it stuck to every side and bottom possible making it the fugliest cake EVER. I’m crushed, really I am, my cupcake versions stuck, my cake in the pan stuck… sigh. However, it is so darn good I wanna try again. Anyways, I sulk for 30 mins then pack my stuff and go to the gym for a great workout… after which, we reward ourselves by having Carl’s Jr burgers which are freaking awesome. Oh I forget to mention I also need to cook dinner at my Mom’s place that evening. ahahaha. So we get home, I crash for an hour and off we go with the dogs to see my parents. I make lean pork loin chops, baby spinach and mashed potatoes with red wine pineapples. Healthy-ish. I serve my fug cake anyways.

Sunday, up by 7.30am again cos I’m just worried about Axl, he walks a lil funny but once he’s pooped he’s all good. I have brunch with the girls to celebrate Ann turning 30!! and together with Stef who’s birthday (BTW) is today!! Then we go ‘sing’ karaoke. Now I can’t sing, I know this… neither can I rap and I’m basically tone deaf but I will sing and rap cos I hate just sitting there. The highlight was getting Ann to sing with a Hong Kong accent, I laughed so hard I was worried I’d pee in my pants (frankly, these days it wouldn’t surprise me). I finally got home and into bed for my nap(2 hours this time) at 5.30pm! Now usually I hate taking a nap so late but I needed it.

That, folks was my crazy weekend… imagine I really thought I could add in a swim in there somewhere…. I am not Amy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

